How do you get it started?

Put the key in the ignition.

Turn the key and the engine roars, or purrs,  to life.

I’ve been driving for almost four decades and have started different vehicles thousands of times.  Sometimes they don’t start and that usually means a trip to the repair shop.

But our Ford Escape has a glitch with its ignition switch that we haven’t gotten around to fixing yet.  It hasn’t bothered me because it’s not the car I drive.  Until last week.

My car was on the fritz when I asked if I could drive my husband’s vehicle to work. He willingly obliged and left for work in my car.

Running later than planned,  I bolted out the door, threw my purse and computer into the passenger seat and jammed the key in the ignition.  I turned it over. Nothing.  I was unfazed because I was fully aware of the glitch.  I knew there was a ‘trick’ to it, and thought I was prepared to trick it into starting.  After ten minutes of pushing, shoving, praying and shouting, I caved in to calling my better half.

My hero came to my rescue and promptly started the car in about ten seconds.  In addition to being grateful, I was spitting mad.  How come I couldn’t do it?  I did all the things he showed me!

This didn’t deter me from driving the Escape to work (mistake!).  But, even at lunch time,  it started up just fine.

At the end of the day, though, things weren’t so simple.  If you want to see some short clips my co-worker filmed because she thought my dilemma was hilarious, click here and here.

What about other things?

Other things are hard to get started too, aren’t they?  Are you starting to exercise this year?  What about eating differently?  Have you begun trying to save more money?  Starting to get more organized?

I have once again started to work out more, eat less.  It’s tough.  I feel more and more like that ignition.  There must be some ‘trick’ to it, right?

Image (11)Just like the ignition has to be turned on, or restarted, daily, I realize, so do I.  I have to ‘start’ each day.  Sometimes, it takes ten seconds.  Other days, it takes more like ten minutes, or more.

Our relationship with Christ has to be ‘started’ and ‘restarted’ daily.  Jesus told His followers that they had to turn from their selfish ways and take up their cross daily and follow Him.  (Luke 9:23).  In other words, they had to start over, again and again.

How do we do that?  I like how The Message paraphrases 2 Corinthians 5:18-19:

Now we look inside, and what we see is that anyone united with the Messiah gets a fresh start, is created new. The old life is gone; a new life burgeons! Look at it! All this comes from the God who settled the relationship between us and him, and then called us to settle our relationships with each other. God put the world square with himself through the Messiah, giving the world a fresh start by offering forgiveness of sins.

So how did I get the Escape started?  I had to turn that key, and do something different than I normally would.

How do I get all these other things started?  I have to turn and do something different.

2 thoughts on “How do you get it started?

  1. Frustrating! Those “it glitches but it works” things usually have to do with feel, not just knowing the steps. If you do it often, you’ve got the touch; if you don’t, well, it can be a struggle. Making bread is like that for me — there are no glitches involved, but following the “rules” — how much flour to add, how long to knead, how high to rise — isn’t enough. Long time ago I taught myself how to do it out of a paperback book. No one in my family or circle of friends baked, so I didn’t have anyone looking over my shoulder. It took a few tries to get the feel right, but once I had it, I never lost it.

Now it's your turn to write...

