Cars, warning lights and Christmas . . . Part 2

Image (7)Last week I shared how my car’s oil light kept annoyingly beeping, warning me of impending danger and I asked for your thoughts.  As expected, many were surprised that I was still driving the car.

“They don’t call them idiot lights for nothing,” one friend wrote.

Point taken.

As I wrote that post, I was actually thinking of the holiday season.  Weird, huh?

Maybe not.   I just wondered if I can ignore the loud shrill warnings of my car, are there other warning signals that I am ignoring, especially at Christmas?

Most reasonable people would call me crazy or stupid for driving my car without getting to the bottom of the cause of the warning light.

Yet, some of those same reasonable people ignore holiday warning lights in their own lives, just as I have at times in mine.

My point is to show that the same people that wouldn’t dare drive a car on a warning light many times drive their lives past that point.  Especially during the holidays.

Stress can be your body’s warning light signalling that something isn’t quite right.  If you keep driving on the warning, you could possibly be headed for a very costly malfunction.

The American Psychological Association (APA) states, “Stress that is left unchecked or poorly managed is known to contribute to high blood pressure, heart disease, obesity, diabetes and suicide.”

Unfortunately our bodies don’t have a “check brain” light, but they do give out warning signs.  The following are a few listed by the APA, but you can read the entire list here.

  • Headaches, muscle tension, neck or back pain
  • Upset stomach
  • Difficulty falling or staying asleep
  • Fatigue
  • Loss of appetite or overeating “comfort foods”
  • Increased frequency of colds
  • Memory problems or forgetfulness
  • Short temper
  • Anxiety

Have you experienced any of these during the holidays?  The demands of trying to find the perfect gift for your loved ones or perhaps the lack of money can cause these warning signs.  Maybe you’ve overbooked yourself:  parties, family get-togethers and church functions are back to back.

What’s the cure?  Much like the warning light on a car, the first thing you should do is STOP.  In other words, pull over and rest.

When you are relaxed, then decide how to simplify your holidays.

I have found a few articles that might help.  One blogger writes Three Steps to a Simplified Holiday, another article tells how to truly focus on what matters and finally, another blogger tells some practical steps to Keep It Simple Santa.

Whatever you do, remember YOU are the driver.

 The Lord replied, “I will personally go with you, Moses, and I will give you rest—everything will be fine for you.” ~ Exodus 33:14 NLT

 

 Then Jesus said, “Let’s go off by ourselves to a quiet place and rest awhile.”He said this because there were so many people coming and going that Jesus and his apostles didn’t even have time to eat.  ~ Mark 6:31 NLT

 

 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” ~ John 16:33 NIV

 

One thought on “Cars, warning lights and Christmas . . . Part 2

Now it's your turn to write...

