If every church member were just like you…

If every church member were just like you, what kind of church would that be?

That question was posed to me many years ago and caused me to think, as it should.

I have thought of it more recently as our church has merged with another and is undergoing a major remodeling

Here is the sanctuary as work was just beginning on our church.
Here is the sanctuary as work was just beginning on our church.

project. A few members have donated (i.e. doing it for free) their time and various talents on this project. These carpenters, electricians, painters, and general laborers have spent hundreds of hours creating a new and inviting space to worship in.  I have spent 0 hours. None. Nothing. Nada.  I started thinking that if every member contributed to the remodel like I did, we would be nowhere.  The thought saddened me.

• What if every church member attended the same amount as you? Once every few weeks? Every other week?

• What if every church member served like you? You handed out food once? You volunteered for nursery duty?

• What if every church member gave like you? You give at least a $5 each week, surely that’s enough? You tithe your 10% when you remember?

• What if every church member prayed like you?  You pray when you need something? You pray before every meal?

The finished product, thanks to many hardworking volunteers. (Not me)
The finished product, thanks to many hardworking volunteers. (Not me)

These thoughts can lead you (and I) down a guilt-ridden and condemning path.  I am reminded that Paul said the church (the body of Christ) has many different parts. In I Corinthians 12:12-27 he explains it in detail.

God put our bodies together in such a way that even the parts that seem the least important are valuable. He did this to make all parts of the body work together smoothly, with each part caring about the others. If one part of our body hurts, we hurt all over. If one part of our body is honored, the whole body will be happy. (I Cor. 12:24-27 CEV)

My hope is for us, as the body of Christ, to truly live this way. It is my prayer.  It is also my prayer that the next time I wonder if every church member were just like me that it would bring a smile to my face and not a frown.

Now it's your turn to write...

