5 things I’ve learned from a Facebook hiatus

hiatus2copyRecently I blogged about taking a break from Facebook.

So, it’s been awhile.  What exactly have I learned from my Facebook hiatus?

  1. No one likes to email anymore, except one friend.  Thank you, Lauren!  (You can forget snail mail!)
  2. People EXPECT you to know the details of their lives that they post for the world.  Newsflash:  Most of the time, I never knew them even when I WAS on Facebook.
  3. I have lots more time for reading…REAL books, instead of statuses.
  4. I do miss it, but I’m pretty sure not a lot miss me.
  5. It has brought my need for acceptance to the forefront of my mind. I want to be liked.  Always have.  Probably always will.

There’s no better proof of being liked than Facebook, right?  The data is right there.  That red notification button popping and dinging is like an approval-momenter each time a person ‘likes’ you, acknowledges you, agrees with you and strokes your ego.  It can be intoxicating for an approval junkie, who at her heart, just wants to be accepted.

The time away has reminded me that I’m accepted by the One who really matters. I’m accepted no matter what.  No matter that I talked ugly (Southern for “mean”) to a little one in the faith just yesterday or that I often get weary trying to do good, so I just quit.

I love what Brennan Manning says in The Ragamuffin Gospel about it, “Never confuse your perception of yourself with the mystery that you really are accepted.”

My grace is enough for you, My power works best in weakness.  – 2 Cor. 12:9

Manning continues later in the book with this nugget, “When we accept ourselves for what we are, we decrease our hunger for power or the acceptance of others because our self-intimacy reinforces our inner sense of security.  We are no longer preoccupied with being powerful or popular.  We no longer fear criticism because we accept the reality of our human limitations…We are grateful for life and we deeply appreciate and  love ourselves.”

Accepting ourselves for what we are. I am striving for this.  I am a ragamuffin.  Redeemed by grace.  Truly thankful and still on the journey.

A few people have asked when I’m going to get back on.  I’m not sure.  I actually thought I would be back by now.  It’s been 2 solid weeks.  This might be a record for me!  I’m somewhat enjoying the ‘quiet’, I just wish I could still communicate with friends, but maybe I didn’t have that many to begin with.  Jesus really only could be close to 12.  Why do I think I can keep up with over a hundred?

2 thoughts on “5 things I’ve learned from a Facebook hiatus

  1. True about email. I use email a lot, both for work and to keep up with friends, but I’ve noticed that when I want to let people know about, say, an upcoming event, I keep forgetting to email my friends who aren’t on Facebook. Facebook has become an indispensable part of the local grapevine, and a substitute for the local newspapers. For me it’s also very work-related — I’ve gotten several jobs through FB connections, and there’s a big editors’ group that’s now my #1 for asking editing-related questions and answering the questions of others. However, I’m also the first to admit that it’s a terrible time sink!

Now it's your turn to write...

