Southern secrets

“In the South we keep secrets and secrets make us sick.” ~ Lisa Harper

Courtesy of Bigstockphoto
Courtesy of Bigstockphoto

This was one statement among thousands of statements I heard last Sunday at a women’s conference entitled “Momentum”.  Many of the things said, sang, and preached were good words, healing words, inspiring words, and encouraging words.  But that particular statement resonated with me.  Lisa specifically mentioned the South, but I don’t think it’s an exclusive Southern thing.

I’m thinking about the secrets I have that I’ve never told, or I’ve told very few.  I’m thinking about the secrets my family has.  Some of them have made me sick.  Physically, no, but mentally, yes.

Am I willing to bare all my secrets to you?  No, not hardly.  However, I do need to be willing to bare all my secrets to the Lord, because He knows them anyway and He’s the only one able to heal them, if I allow.

“But I, the LORD, search all hearts and examine secret motives. I give all people their due rewards, according to what their actions deserve.” ~ Jeremiah 17:10 (NLT)

 

2 thoughts on “Southern secrets

Now it's your turn to write...

