Snow days

I wish EVERYONE could experience a snow day. It’s kinda like God wiping your schedule clear for the day and says, “Rest in Me.”

I said this back in December of 2013, when I was still a teacher.  I loved snow days for that very reason, it cleared your schedule and you could just rest.

Today we received at least 4 inches of snow in our town, which is the equivalent to about 8 inches in a town up north.  I went in to work late and my wonderful husband drove me.  I couldn’t believe that the grass was covered and the ground actually looked white.  (For this to be a phenomenon you haven’t experienced many ‘Southern’ snows). The flakes came down fast and furious.   The few snow plows that the county has were actually shoveling piles of snow off the road!Snow scene

This was not my normal for a snow day.  I was used to sleeping in, cooking a late breakfast, and staying in my pajamas for the day.  Or, maybe, getting dressed to go ‘play’ in it with the kids. In other words, I was used to resting.

Today I did not have the luxury of resting, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t feel rested.  Actually,  I still felt the peacefulness that comes with a snow day. People, for the most part, drove slower, were more cautious and didn’t hurry.  When I looked at the pure white blanket that had covered my yard, I felt a hush come over me.  It just felt quiet outside and inside.

God wants us to experience snow days.  He interrupts our busy schedules with all of our ‘important’ list of things to do and shows us what really is important…Him.  He doesn’t have bring a winter storm to do it, but He can.

We don’t have have to stop everything in our lives to rest either, but we can.

Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. – Matthew 11:28

Those who live in the shelter of the Most High will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty. – Psalm 91:1

Don’t wait for a snow day to find your rest.  Experience that peace every day.

3 thoughts on “Snow days

  1. I’ve had some “snow days” this past week with what has seemed like an incurable case of strep throat. My life has been on hold just a i bit but you’re right, it’s good to pause.

Now it's your turn to write...

