Understanding the Future

“The future is something which everyone reaches at the rate of 60 minutes an hour, whatever he does, whoever he is.”         ~ C.S. Lewis

image courtesy of creative commons http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Alarm_Clocks_20101107a.jpg

Whether we have realized it or not, the future only comes one day at a time.  When we hope for something, we often want it sooner rather than later.  Things you can’t wait for:  Your wedding date…your first born’s arrival… payday (need I say more?).  However, some things come too quickly:  The graduation of your child…the end of a marriage…the loss of a loved one.    These events often cause us to reflect on the passing of time and realize how fast it all went.

The truth is that time is the one true equalizer in everyone’s life.  Rich, poor, black, white, we are each given the same rate of 60 minutes per hour to use.  It’s what we DO with the time that makes all the difference.

My future seems (to others) to have been placed in a precarious situation, teetering on the brink of financial failure, career suicide and mid-life crisis.  But if you knew the One I placed my future with, you would not worry.  He holds heaven and earth and He knows me by name.

image courtesy of creative commons

It’s with that confidence that I am delighted to announce my job search is over!  I have been working full-time as a reporter for my local newspaper since last week.  I have had a crash-course in journalism, already written several articles and attempted to photograph many different events. I have learned about cut-lines, paginators and GPS (no, it’s not Global Positioning System).  I have taken more notes in the last week than I did all of last year!   I am blessed to be trained by not only a wonderfully talented writer and editor, but also an extremely kind and humble teacher, who leads by example.  My second day on the job she said some profound words to me, “It’s important that you understand that you will not understand everything.”  And along with that, she encouraged me to ask questions.

Her statement caused me to pause.  Shouldn’t that be our philosophy spiritually, as well?  I’ll never understand everything about God, and quite frankly, I don’t want to.  But I do ask Him questions.  And He, like my editor/trainer, does not mind.  In fact, He wants us to talk to Him.  “Then call on me when you are in trouble, and I will rescue you, and you will give me glory.”  (Psalm 50:15 NLT)   [See also James 5:13, Job 33:26,  Psalm 86:7]


Although I will not understand everything about my new job right away,  and I do not know the future, I know that God has blessed me with a new beginning and truly given me beauty for ashes. For that I am so thankful.  


“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. (Jeremiah 29:11 NIV)

2 thoughts on “Understanding the Future

Now it's your turn to write...

