Diary of a Ragamuffin – The Beginning

rag·a·muf·fin [raguh-muhf-in]  

noun

1.  a ragged, disreputable person; tatterdemalion.
2.  a child in ragged, ill-fitting, dirty clothes.
ragamuffin jeans
My great grandma used to call me this as a child when my sister and I didn’t meet her standards of clean and she had to take us out in public.  I really didn’t understand the meaning, but I thoroughly understood the connotation.  I hated being called that. It stuck with me.  And for many years I have felt like a ragamuffin.
Was a I poor?  No.  Dirty?  Of course not.  But, I have never fit in well.  I have never been enough.  I wasn’t smart enough.  Or pretty enough.  Or thin enough.  Or tough enough.  Or funny enough.  I think you get the idea.  And maybe you can relate.
I have covered my ragamuffin tendencies well through the years, even earning a college degree (after marrying), and landing a job teaching children, which I felt called to do.  I also managed to give birth to two beautiful children in the process, and assume the role of pastor’s wife.
This year I have experienced some major crises, including breast cancer, marital problems, and major opposition at my job.  These have forced me to depend more on God, and search for solutions, but at the same time, it brought the ragamuffin feelings to the surface.
Through prayer and good counseling, I have discovered that I AM enough.  I am a ragamuffin redeemed by Christ.  This was not a new revelation for me, however, I have started living it out more.  Which leads me to this blog…and a major career change.
At the end of May, I will leave my teaching career and embark on a new journey.  One that has not been planned out by me, but I am trusting the One who does have it planned out.  Will you join me as I chronicle this adventure?
This is the diary of a ragamuffin.
23 thoughts on “Diary of a Ragamuffin – The Beginning

  1. I know this year has been challenging, to say least…. It will be refreshing to see you tackle and manage a whole new direction!! God often puts us in places we wouldn’t see ourselves in, just so He can show us how stong we really are. May God bless you and direct you😊

  2. You probably don’t recognize my “avatar” but let’s just say we are related…and I am bald. I had no idea until recently that you were battling with cancer. Please forgive me for not reaching out sooner (Matthew 18:15)

    You are beloved of God, made in his image and his affection was set upon you before the foundations of the world. I sometimes wonder if we can truly grasp how meaningful this is, that before God created he numbered you among his children.

    I hope you know that we love you and your family is in our prayers.

  3. How amazingly quick we are to believe the lies Satan uses in our own minds and from the lips of others…but how slow to accept the overwhelming and abundant love of Christ that heals our hurts, forgives our sins and gives our dead transgressed bodies new life that is eternal. Your are a precious child of the King chosen for a special purpose. It is in the trials of life that we grow the most in our awareness of the power of the Holy Spirit. I heard a profound statement in church today…The same spirit that resurrected Jesus Christ from the dead is the same spirit that lives in us(those that have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ).
    I love you, my sweet niece.

  4. I enjoyed your blog and so I’m nominating you for The Liebster Award.

    These are the rules:
    The Liebster Award is awarded to bloggers with under 200 followers to try to promote their blog a little and also bring together a community of bloggers. The rules of the competition are as follows:
    The nominated user must provide a link bank to the person who nominated them.
    This is my link: http://generalgibberish.wordpress.com/2014/04/27/ich-liebster-dich/
    Provide 11 facts about yourself.
    Answer 11 questions set by the person who nominated you.
    Choose 11 more people and ask them 11 questions.

  5. I pray that I get to where you are someday. You’ll never know how much I look up to and admire you. Just your very presence in my life as I was going through tough times was enough to keep me going. Thank you for sharing.

    1. Melissa, thank you so much for reading! Learn to appreciate the journey you are on because it is YOURS! I had no idea that you looked up to me…and for that I am grateful, and somewhat scared!! LOL 🙂 Hope to keep sharing the journey with you!

Now it's your turn to write...

